Pata Chitra

Pata Chitra

"Patta" literally means "cloth" and "Chitra" means "picture" in Sanskrit. The Pattachitra painting tradition is closely linked with the worship of Lord Jagannath in Odisha. The subject matter of Patta chitra is limited to religious themes. The stories of Lord Rama and Lord Krishna are usually depicted on the pattas. "Rasa Lila", "Vastra Haran", "Kaliya Dalan" are some of the recurring themes of Patta art. Patta chitras of Lord Jagannath, Balabhadra and Subhadra, the Navagrahas and the deities are also famous. In some parts of Odisha, during marriage ceremonies, Patta chitras of Durga and Mahadeva are used. The present generation of patta chitra painters paint in the style of the oleography on the walls of big temple.

These paintings were traditionally done by males only. However, in recent times, some women artists have also taken up this art form. The painters or Chitrakars are found mainly in the district of Puri, Odisha and more specifically in the crafts village of Raghurajpur. The tradition of making patachitras is passed down the generations from father to son.

More Information:

blog comments powered by Disqus
Muslin Fabric

This gossamer light muslin fabric has found mention in the writings of many visitors to India, even as far back as the 3rd century B.C. A great deal of muslin was produced in and exported from Bengal. Dacca was the main region where cotton was cultivated due to the high humidity of the region, which prevented the delicate thread from breaking on contact with the air. The cotton spun was very white since the Brahmaputra and the Ganges Rivers have bleaching properties. The chikan workers in Bengal used this fine muslin for embroidery.

Stitches in Chikankari

Double-Star Earring, Peacock Feather's Eye, Sidhual, Makra, Mandarzi, Bulbulchashm, Tajmahal, Phooljali, Phanda, Dhoom, Gol, murri, Janjeera, Keel, Kangan, Bakhia, Dhania Patti, lambi Murri, Kapkapi, Karan Phool, Bijli, Ghaspatti, Rozan, Meharki, Kaj, Chameli, Chane ki Patti, Balda, Jora, Pachni, Tapchim Kauri, Hathkati and Daraj of various types.